I don’t mind porridge/oatmeal, but I’m definitely a toppings girl. I think it comes from the same part of my brain that used to dislike risotto.  Mouthful after mouthful of the same taste.  Even if it’s good, it’s going to be boring after the fifth forkful. Then I discovered toppings! Like the crispy garlic crumbs on my creamy tomato risotto.  That was a revelation that led to a whole new risotto-eating Nicky. So now I think of porridge in the same way.  Hmmm what toppings shall I have today? Apple, cinnamon, nuts and raisins? Yep, that’s a good one to go with a large Latte. I even add extra toppings to my granola half the time.  Like the mini coconut macaroons and extra fruit on this breakfast:

In fact, having just had a quick (ahem 20 minutes probably isn’t that quick, but i’m easily distracted) peruse through my pinterest board, I think I may be obessed! Toppings of crispy onions, bacon, coconut, pomegranate, candied nuts……the list goes on…… Wow.  I guess everything just tastes better with toppings. This fully loaded porridge is covered in chopped strawberries and banana, then swirled with dark melted chocolate and Greek yogurt, and finally sprinkled with a few Chia seeds.

A delicious breakfast to set you up for the day with a smile on your face.

The Fully Loaded Oatmeal Recipe:

   

Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 35Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 6Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 7Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 60Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 76Fully Loaded Oatmeal - 12