I’m a grown up now, so I really shouldn’t be enticed by sugary cereals. I’m generally pretty good at breakfast time - porridge, homemade granola with fruit, weetabix or a smoothie are the options I try to go for. But every now and then I’ll succumb to a bowl of crunchy nut cornflakes, coco pops or those Nesquick balls (have you seen them? they look like rabbit poops, but they’re so tasty!).

I was reading a foodie magazine the other day and there was an article on Momofuku’s cereal milk ice cream. Have you heard of it? They steep cornflakes in milk, then use that milk to make sweetened soft-serve ice cream. I want to try it soooo much! I’ve used cereal milk before to make ice lollies over on Simply Stacies site - they worked a treat! So I decided to have a go at making my own cereal milk ice cream. I haven’t got an ice cream maker, so my ice creams are always the no churn version (like this strawberry shortbread flavour). I figured crunchy nut cornflakes would be a good upgrade on regular cornflakes, and boy! It was good! It tastes amazing eaten on it’s own.

If you want to go one step naughtier though (let’s face it, there’s nothing healthy in this recipe anyway. Might as well go whole hog!) try serving it with one of those tinned sponge puddings in syrup. Yeah, I went there. None of us could move from the sofa for at least an hour after this calorific pud, but it was well worth the two jogging sessions I had to do to ease my sense of guilt! I’m now trying not to think about making Nesquick rabbit poop ice cream. I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t do so well on Pinterest 🙂

The No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream Recipe:

prosecco, lemon and ginger granita spiked pineapple dole whip Pick ’n’ mix Popsicles Easy Strawberry and rhubarb sorbet No Churn Lemon Shortbread Ice Cream

No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 37No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 26No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 56No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 63No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 99No Churn Cereal Milk Ice Cream - 24