It’s easy to go into carb overload during the colder months. Right now with the house extension going on, and my only method of cooking at home being a single plug-in hob, a microwave and a toaster, we’re starting to get into the habit of feasting on chips, large sandwiches and stodgy cakes. I’m not beating myself up about it. I know it’s only a temporary thing, and we’ll get back to lovely homecooked meals soon, but I would like to throw in the occasional nod to healthy eating. So today I’m sharing this warming winter salad:

Bright colourful veggies (instead of all that brown food!), multi-coloured quinoa (that I can cook on my little hob) and a spicy peanut dressing to warm up your belly.

I made this a couple of months ago for the Autumn edition of Superfood magazine, and I’m pulling it out again to make this weekend. I’ll probably serve it with some ready-cooked chicken for my carnivorous family and finish it off with the caramel chocolate mug cake that I’m posting on Saturday. If you fancied a more meaty version then why not try my Coffee Crusted Steak Buddha Bowl or Spicy Chicken Nourish Bowl. I know, I know, naughty-brown food for dessert, but I’m too weak for going cold turkey!!

The Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce Recipe:

Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce - 56Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce - 54Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce - 49Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce - 94Vegetarian Buddha Bowls with Spicy Peanut Sauce - 78